Escape to the Tangents

I’ve been reading the Alternity supplement Tangents and I’m really caught by the idea. I’ll probably never run a game in it, since I’d have to write all the adventures myself, but I have thought up a really cool campaign opening. This would also work for GURPS infinite worlds, which I suspect Tangents is copied off of, and the d20 Modern Dimension Hopping setting, stolen from Tangents.

“We were just rookies, about to do our first solo mission. A probe had crashed in an unoccupied world and we were to go retrieve it. We were sitting in a conference room, planning things out, exited as hell, when suddenly the alarms all start going off, their wailing punctuated by the distant thunder of explosions. As we headed for the door the sharp staccato of machine guy fire began, and the emergency evacuation siren began to scream. We ran for the transport bay, but had to detour around a sealed section, so most of the transports were gone. We were shoved into one of the smallest d-hoppers, an outdated and barely functional little model with just enough room for us. We set the only coordinates that we could think of, those of the crashed probe. As we shifted out we watched soldiers in unknown uniforms burst in. We know that we can’t go home, but we don’t know where else to go. Our only hope of getting off this empty world was to find the probe and pull the coordinates of it’s last jumps out of memory. Hopefully by backtracking along it’s route we will be able to find an outpost that is still safe. If we are really lucky the attacks will not be following us across the dimensions…but we aren’t taken any chances….”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://canageek.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/escape-to-the-tangents/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well… it’s written by Bruce Cordell– so you could ask him… although I suspect it draws more on his work with Planescape.

    -Ben.

    • Really? I don’t see much similarity, though I left the book at home without finishing it when I came back to Uni.

  2. [...] Reboot, Sliders, Alternity’s Tagents setting and GURPS Infinite Worlds. I have already blogged a bit about this setting, but in my original post I said I would never run it. This game was the [...]

  3. [...] #7: Dimensional Hoppers: Another idea that I have blogged about before, this game would involve the players travelling across dimensions in search of a way [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,161 other followers

