Blog Recommendation: From the Sorcerer’s Skull

I planned to write this post months and months ago, however universities came along and tackled me, held me down and beat me with knowledge and group projects. On the plus side I now have a totally awesome summer job (nuclear chemistry, including monitoring radiation levels reaching the west coast from Japan), an undergraduate thesis position for next year (NMR studies on protein-small molecule interactions), a working knowledge of polymer chemistry, some useful tidbits about analytical chemistry and some interesting tidbits about physical chemistry and some really useful lab experience.

However, I did not set pen to paper (or bits to memory) to bore you about my academic studies! I came to recommend unto you a most awesome blog: From The Sorcerer’s Skull.

The single best thing about this blog is the amazing setting known as The City and its Strange New
World
. It is really hard to describe what the city is, and no one post really describes it very well as it has mutated and evolved since the first post on it. I think I shall describe it as thus: Take a large amount of well aged noir, the good stuff with lots of hard shadows and harder men and blend that into a homogeneous mixture with a slight excess of pulp action. Add just a touch of steampunk, the origional politically motivated stuff, not the off-brand ‘aesthetics only’  lite dreck. Now mix this all heavily with traditional D&D tropes as a binder to give it structure, and ice with mythology and nonfiction as desired. Add nuggets of horror and sprinkle liberally with weird fiction. Enjoy. Here are some early example posts: Weird Weapons, Weird War; This post shows the much more modern technological level of The City and a lot of the weird adventure. Dungeon, American Style: City Lost, Canyon Grand has an interesting take on the Grand Canyon, which in the world of the City is filled with monsters. Oh, did I forget to mention that The City’s geography mirrors our own in many ways? Except sprinkled with the fantastic, and often is closer to how people several hundred years ago thought the world was like, not how it actually is. For this reason I strongly suspect that the world of The City is hollow, though I don’t think this has been stated yet.

There are also other sections of the blog: An old setting from before The City, Warlord Wednesdays which talk about an old comic (I will admit to skipping those ones), and a number of other posts on various and interesting topics. Which brings us to the next most impressive part after Trey’s creativity: The sheer number of posts he churns out. I mean, often over 25 posts per month! Almost one a day! It is nuts. I can sometimes manage one a week, but Trey? Trey is a machine! A creative, good post writing machine!

My final point is less tangible: Trey seems like a nice guy. When I posted about my friend who was having some trouble, he and a couple of other readers went and offered her best wishes, and I know he posted at least once after that. From what I can tell she is doing a fair bit better now, though things are still very rocky, and I really appreciate him doing that. Anyway, why are you still here? From The Sorcerer’s Skull is about a thosand times better then my blog! Go read that!

And until next time, Stay Geeky!

–Canageek

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://canageek.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/blog-recommendation-from-the-sorcerers-skull/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Agreed, Tray has done a wonderful job with his setting.

    Good luck with your job and thesis position!

  2. Hey, thanks, man! I don’t know how I missed this over the weekend, but you don’t know how timely it is–I had been wondering if the work of the blog (and trying to turn out Weird Adventures) was worth it.

    While people leave positive comments, of course, you never know how much of that is “being social” versus sincere.

    It’s gratifying to know people are really enjoying it. :)

    Congratulations on the summer project.

    Oh, and thanks to seaofstarsrpg, too!

    • Hah, I also entered your blog into a contest, I think it is easily better then most of the ones that had been entered so far, though there were a few god ones in the mix.

      I’d say that comments are certainly an indication of quality (well, unless they are ranting you out). It takes time and effort to write a comment, and people are not going to do that for blogs they are not interested in. I really should comment on your blog more, but I’ve been kinda keen to catch up and read more posts on The City- I didn’t realize that the first setting you wrote about wasn’t the City or I would have started with the first post on The City.

      You could certainly lower your posting frequency if you are getting burned out. Possibly M-W-F and then let any extra posts you write go into a later week, then take a week off or something like that?

      I’ve got to say, I think The Strange New World is the only campaign setting that I would shell out money on sight-unseen, like for an Open Design or Kickstarter project. Man, do I want to play in that world.

  3. Yeah, I’m appreciative of the comments that I get, certainly–and I know some folks dig what I’m doing who either don’t feel like they have anything to add, or just aren’t big on commenting.

    I probably will slack off on my posting at some point, but I’ll keep up the pace until I feel it’s time not to. Discipline is good. :)

    • I will probably comment a lot more when I am caught up. I can only read so many blog comments in a row most days, so I am only up to March 10th currently, and you get more comments then pretty much any other blog I’ve read. Well, one chemistry blog gets a few hundred a post, but other then that…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 957 other followers

