So who am I and why do I have a blog?

Welcome to my blog. While I’m probably the last person on the internet to get one of these I still feel rather narcissistic having one of these. I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do with this yet, I’m certainly going to talk about gaming and RPGs, that is the tabletop, dice based games, not those newfangled computer games. I will probably indulge in talking about myself from time to time, though I’m not sure of how open I’ll be as of yet.

So why did I start a blog? Last Halloween I joined Twitter in an event called War of the Worlds 2. I tweeted from time to time until another even along the same lines as War of the Worlds Two known as Twitter Fiction Event run by @MassTwitFic came alone. I installed tweetdeck and spent the whole day online and after that never quite left. I got used to talking with people online on twitter, and wanted to have longer discussions. I wanted to post long articles and opinions without having to break them up into 140 characters and flood everyone’s feeds. So, here I am.

So, who am I anyway? I’m a Canadian geek. I’m a chemistry major at McMaster University. I’m not going to go into more detail as I’ll be job hunting come fall and I don’t want an employer looking into my private life. So don’t be surprised if my picture changes a bit come September. Now I’m not going to post about me getting high and drunk and having random sex as well, I’ve never done any of those things. I drink, but have never been drunk. I suffer enough from a medicine I have to take to fill my mind with illicit chemicals, and well, I’m a romantic. Also I’m currently in a long distance relationship with a very lovely women. ^^.

I’m a bit of a computer geek, I’ve done a touch of programming in a few languages, but I’m by no means a programmer. I play the occasional computer game, leaning towards RPGs and Turn Based Strategy. I’m currently leaning towards organic chemistry as a focus, though some elements of inorganic interests me. So far analytical chemistry has bored me, though people keep recommending I go into it for some reason. I’ve also tried Quantum chemistry and liked the fact it let me program and do chemistry, but I found it too ‘physicsy’ for my tastes.

So I’m not sure what else to say about myself. I’ve got a few more posts ready about gaming and we’ll see where this thing goes!

Published in: on July 23, 2009 at 9:49 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://canageek.wordpress.com/2009/07/23/so-who-am-i-and-why-do-i-have-a-blog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice to see you blogging! I hope you enjoy it.

    • I hope to enjoy it too! Congrats on being the first comment in my blog!

  2. Welcome to future (as they say).

    Nothing narcissit about blogging all. You’ll find that people are actually quite interested in what you have to say after a bit (no blog gets a million readers over night unfortunatly, so there is the shouting into a darkened room aspect at first ;) ).

    • True. On the other hand I don’t intend for this to be a high traffic blog. To do that you have to have highly edited and well thought out posts, and I do enough editing for school I’d rather not do more then basic editing on my own time.

      My opinions on blogs and narcissism mostly formed when I considered having a blog, but didn’t have anything to talk about but me. Now that I’ve decided to talk about gaming I think I have a more valid purpose.

  3. Hello from the “very lovely woman”! You’re off to a good start.

    • Mmmm, *kiss* Thank you dear. ^^


Leave a Reply

