Alignment/Alligences

Ok, so I really like the alignment system from d20 Modern.  Very flexible…and horribly under used, and down right misused in the core book. So I wrote up a basic description of it from memory, and fiddled with it a bit. I figured I’d ask all of you for your opinions on it. Here is my write up from the last game I ran, my ongoing play-by-post.

Ok, since no one used this system last time I’m making it so you default to having an alligence to your aliment, Good/Evil first, then Law/Chaos. This can be changed at any time once it comes up.

I’ll lay out that system now: Everyone picks at least one guiding principle to which they owe alligence. Example: Justice, Law, Good, the teachings of Pelor, the Queen, Self, Money, Pleasure, Power. You can pick more then one (and most people do). You cannot pick mutually elusive allegiances (ie Good and Evil, the teachings of Bane and Pelor).
You then put your allegiances in order form most influence over you to least influence. Example: If a character has 1: Justice, 2: Law he will first do what is the just thing in his opinion, then the lawful thing. Note this is not a hard and fast rule, but an RP guideline.
Clerics & Paladins must have allegiances to the god they worship, as well as anyone with a cleric or paladin paragon path.
Allegiance can be added/removed at any extended rest since they represent your characters beliefs which can change over time.

So what do you think? Suggestions? Comments? Criticism?

Until next time, Stay Geeky

–Canageek

Published in: on January 4, 2010 at 6:18 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://canageek.wordpress.com/2010/01/04/alignmentalligences/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What’s the mechanical effect of these allegiances?

    In Exalted intimacies provide bonuses and penalties to social actions regarding them. Thus it makes it harder to convince someone to betray a allegiance/intimacy or easier to convince someone if the course of action favors one.

    • I prefer to leave such things to roleplay and a way of describing characters and motivations to be honest. I could see fiddling with DCs based on them but I tend to do such things more as a sport call then a written rule.

  2. So if these allegiances have no mechanical significance, why call it a system? Just add it to Roleplaying suggestions and be done with it.

    • System means it is systematic, as in all players and NPCs have one. In 4e there is an alignment system with no mechanical effects, and in pre3e editions there was almost no mechanical effect to alignment.

  3. Fair enough I guess… but if you never intended for it to have any mechanical significance then why solicit opinions? It’s like asking the world what they think if you make the sound “Pow pow pow” when your Green Army Men shoot each other instead of “Pew Pew Pew”. (I prefer the classic “pew” FWIW ;)

    • I view roleplaying as just as important part of the game as the rules. Look at any major forum and they will either have arguments on alignment or a ban on such arguments. I took the d20 Modern system and stripped it down and what to see what people think. Also it doesn’t get used as much as I’d like in my games so I thought I’d see if people could help me improve it.


Leave a Reply

