The Quest for the Magic Candle, part 1

For a fair while now I’ve been a fan of The CRPG Addict. He mentioned that The Magic Candle is coming up, and I remembered seeing that in my Dad’s collection of COMMODORE 64 games in the basement as a kid, and whats more, spending hours reading the manual. I decided, since someone in the comments thread told me that the manual wasn’t online in a nice form, that I would go on a quest for it.

A COMMADORE 64 Monitor

A COMMADORE 64 Monitor: This fell on my leg a couple weeks ago, so it may no longer work.

A box while a pile of games stacked on top.

Well, this should be easy. A box with games on top, it must be in here, right? (Hint: Nope)

A box piled high with diskets

At this point I was just documenting how much C64 stuff we have, I didn’t realize what an epic quest it would be.

A box of games

Another box with games in it, though not The Magic Candle. Let me know if you want me to scan any of these manuals.

It was at this point that I realized that my quest amid the dust bunnies and coldest floors would not be as easy as I first thought, and I begun documenting it in detail.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://canageek.wordpress.com/2012/05/19/the-quest-for-the-magic-candle-part-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Magic Candle III was one of my first computer games. I think I still have the floppy disks for it (along with a lot of my other DOS games), and I have the map for Bloodstone on my office wall at home. Good luck on your search!

  2. Wow, those old floppy disk containers really take me back. I had 2 or 3 just like those.

  3. Hey! Broadsides! Cool..


Leave a comment