Fun and Useful Google+ Groups

Most people think of Google+ as a failed social network. I’m going to let you in on a little secret: The RPG Community loves it, warts and all. It is great for running games online: I can have a community for my game, where I post summaries, art, handouts, character sheets, etc. Then I schedule the game in the community, and it has an add-to calendar button right there, and when the game starts it automatically creates a hangout which ties in to the excellent Roll20.

However, that isn’t what I’m here to tell you about today. I’m going to tell you about my two favourite Google+ communities.


The first of these is Suppressed Transmissions owned by the excellent Jürgen Hubert. It is a group based around finding real world history, news reports, odd artifacts and so forth and using them for inspiration for RPG plots, plot hooks, etc. It was inspired by the Suppressed Transmissions column Kenneth Hite wrote in Pyramid Magazine, though I’d be the first to admit that we don’t have nearly his skill at twisting history into adventure material. However, the sheer amount of material the group finds is rather impressive, and it isn’t hard to find gems perfect for your game in there. If the group has a fault, it is a fixation on fortean type material, with a bias towards modern day occult, UFO and conspiracy type material, due to how easy it is to adapt it to modern horror games such as Delta Green, d20 Modern, Conspiracy X, GURPS: Horror and so on. However, there are a few of us who regularly link to historical articles and so on.

Disclaimer: I’m a moderator on this community, though this appears to be just as I’m on a lot and in the right time zone to catch spam messages (or more commonly, save legit messages from the spam filter) when the group owner is asleep.

Bonus! I’m running a contest right now. Jürgen Hubert is doing an effort to encourage people to write up appropriate descriptions of articles to link them to RPG plots, and to help out I’m sponsoring and judging a contest to add such things to old articles.


The second excellent group I’d like to tell you about is the Source Material group. It is a lot smaller then the Suppressed Transmissions group (60 members vs 1,871), but for all that is very useful and well stocked with material. True, most of it comes from one person, the excellent Steve Keller. However, this has resulted in an amazingly high average post quality, and he is actively courting new contributors something I’m trying to help him with.

The purpose of this group is to collate useful material for DMs, not necessarily plot hooks, but new technology, articles on history, alternate history, and well, any other source material that you can name. I really encourage you to check this group out, as its articles make excellent pleasure reading in addition to their use as RPG information.

Until next time, Stay Geeky
—Canageek

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://canageek.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/fun-and-useful-google-groups/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. All great links.

    • Thank you very much; I hope to see you drop by.

  2. Hi there! I am a Canadian and I have a blog called Confessions of a Geek Queen. Had to subscribe as soon as I saw your title; you found me on the Google+ Spelljammer community. I also signed up for Suppressed Transmissions because it looked like a goldmine of material. Glad to have found you!

    • Thank you for your complements. I’m glad my post was helpful to you.


Leave a Reply

